Frequently Asked Questions
How fast does GreenMotioneBikes go?
The throttle and pedal assist will assist up to 20 mph. You can go faster on your own power.
Is Insurance required?
In Washington State, license, registration, and insurance are not currently required for Class 2 ebikes. You are responsible for knowing the laws in your state.
Can I get insurance for my ebike?
Yes! You can check with your own homeowner’s and auto insurance to see if it is already covered, or if your provider offers an umbrella or separate policy. There are other companies that offer separate policies for ebikes, such as Safeco. The policy would ideally include both theft and liability.
Are helmets required?
In Washington State, helmets are not required for riders 16 and older, on Class 2 ebikes. You are responsible for knowing the laws in your state.
How long will the battery last?
The life of the battery should last through 400-600 charging cycles
Do I have to always be pedaling?
No! ALL our ebikes include a throttle, so you can easily control your speed without any pedaling at all!
Can I still get exercise on an ebike?
Yes! eBikes are great for exercise! You can work as hard or as little as you want. With an ebike, YOU control how much you are exercising.
Can Kids ride ebikes?
Our ebikes are designed for riders for 16 and older. Laws may vary in your state.
Do ebikes require a lot of maintenance?
No! Ebikes are easy to maintain. Basic seasonal tune-ups, brake and gear shift adjustments, and chain maintenance is really the only upkeep required, and can usually be done at any local bike shop.
Are the handlebars and seats adjustable?
On the Fusion, the Pulsar, and the Prism, both the seat and handlebars are adjustable. On the Element and the Eclipse, the seats are adjustable.
What if I want to switch out the seat?
Our ebikes are a pretty standard post size, so you can upgrade your seat no problem!
Are the batteries removeable?
Yes! All our ebikes have removeable batteries, and the batteries can be charged whether they are on the bike or not. This makes the folding ebikes particularly portable, as it reduces the weight of the ebike by about 12 pounds.
Does the battery re-charge when pedaling?
No. The batteries must be plugged in to a regular 110 outlet to charge.
How long does the battery take to charge?
It takes roughly 4-6 hours to fully charge a completely dead battery.
Can I buy a replacement or second battery to extend my range?
Absolutely! Just give us a call or email to place your order, and we can have one ready for in store pick up or shipped directly to you!
Where can I ride my ebike?
In Washington State, Class 2 ebikes can generally be ridden wherever regular bikes can be ridden, however, the laws in your state may vary.
Are the folding ebikes difficult to fold and unfold?
Nope! There are only two hinges for the folding mechanism. No tools required, takes only seconds!
Can I still ride the ebike if the battery dies?
Yes! These can be ridden just like a regular bike, either when the ebike is turned off, has a dead battery, or is in pedal assist 0.
Do I still have to follow traffic laws on an ebike?
Yes. Speed limits, traffic signals, and other traffic laws are applicable to ebikes, although state and municipal laws may vary.
What accessories do the ebikes include?
All our ebikes include fenders, and a rear luggage rack. The Element also includes a metal front basket. All five models include a USB charging port for your electronics.
Are ebikes ok for an overweight person?
Yes! Our ebike have a weight limit of around 265 pounds, and you can lose weight as you enjoy your riding adventures!
Can fat tires still get a flat?
Our fat tires are very puncture resistant, however, flats can still occur, especially with glass, nails, or thorns. Adding the “slime” or “sealant” to your tubes will help reduce the chance of flat tires.
Can I change my own flat tire?
Our ebikes all have rear hub motors, so changing the front tire is usually not a problem. If it is a rear flat, it is best to take the ebike to a qualified mechanic to avoid any damage to the motor or voiding the warranty.
Where do you ship to?
We currently only ship to the lower 48 states in the Untied States.
Can I charge my cell phone or other electronics on the ebike?
Yes! Every ebike includes a USB charging port under the LCD screen. You can charge a cell phone, light kits, music speakers, GPS units, and more!
What if I have a DUI? Can I still ride an ebike?
Yes! In Washington State, ebike riders are not required to have a driver’s license, registration, or insurance. These laws are subject to change and may vary from state to state.
Can I take my ebike on an airplane?
Yes! The lithium-ion battery will need to be in your carry on, and cannot be checked. Here are the TSA guidelines regarding batteries: https://www.tsa.gov/travel/security-screening/whatcanibring/all
Check with your airline for specific instructions on checking your ebike.
Is the rear luggage rack safe for passengers?
No. Our ebikes are not rated to carry passengers, however, the 25kg weight limit can accommodate a baby carrier.
How far can I go on a single charge?
If you are just using the throttle or in the highest level pedal assist (level 5), you should get 20+ miles. The lower range pedal assist (level 3 or below), should get you 30+ miles. Range can be affected by hills, headwinds, and weight of rider.